Trump, Voting and Criminal Charges

I can’t seem to get a straight answer as to what happens next. The January 6 Witch Hunt Committee is recommending criminal charges be brought against Trump. The case has been referred to the Department of Justice, who also doesn’t like Trump. I don’t know whether they institute a trial there or what happens next. Nobody seems to say.

I think this will all be a lot of blustering and blow over, but I think I’ve decided that if Trump goes to jail or is barred from running for reelection, I will not vote again.

Voting is a major right, and I’ve heard “If you don’t vote, you don’t get to complain” a thousand times. But… would you vote in Iran? Would you vote in Iraq? North Korea? No, probably not. You know the results, you know it’s all staged, and so you would say, “Why bother?”

That’s where I’m at right now. If the party in power can just eliminate potential opponents, we no longer have an actual electoral process. I can’t do much about that, but I won’t help them pretend it is legitimate.

Thank you for reading my post.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment