Scholarship

I received an email about a scholarship opportunity to forward to our students.  It was worth a few thousand dollars and required an essay, transcript and a few letters of recommendation.

I knew quite a few students who could use the money, and were worthy of a scholarship of this size.  Hard working, capable students.

However, as I continued reading the requirements I saw that none of these students qualified.  Was there a minimum GPA?  Sure, yet all of the students I could name met this requirement.

Instead, the students that come to mind were eliminated because they were not Hispanic.

Morally speaking, an individual or an organization should be allowed to give money to whomever they choose, regardless of whatever stupid reason they choose.  However, you have to wonder about someone who is willing to give money to someone based on their bloodwork and heritage.

I deleted this email.  This organization will not receive my support.  If they wish to choose their candidates based on non-essentials such as race, my students are too good to be involved in such an organization.

Thank you for reading my post.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

