“God Bless America” and other offensive things

I was at work the other night, and someone had wrote “God Bless America” on one of the dry erase boards.  Another employee angrily erased it, mumbling something about being offensive.

Regardless of your religious beliefs, this is uncalled for.  The expression “God bless” anything is the equivalent of sending someone their best wishes.  That’s it.  It is a simple expression of well being.

“But what if I don’t believe in God?!”  What if you don’t?  I don’t believe it is worth being offended if someone assumed I was an atheist and wished me “Happy Holidays.”   THEY ARE WISHING ME WELL.

Try this:  next time someone says “good afternoon”, mumble back that you don’t think it’s good, and that you don’t believe in noon and that there can be no afternoon.

Sometimes, I think folks that complain about stuff like this have never actually been offended.  They walk around like a wounded animal, waiting for the most minor offense as an excuse to lash out.

If you are offended this easily, consider getting help.  The world is full of all sorts of offensive things- I don’t know how you’ll survive it.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment