2 Responses to “Conscious Capitalism – Editorial (submitted to Modern Casting)”

  1. tiffany267 Says:

    Nice post, but I feel compelled to add my thoughts:
    Profit, contrary to conventional wisdom, is a wonderful, healthy value.

    However, it’s not the only value, and sometimes charity can be just as good.

    Mind you, I said charity, not selflessness. There is a huge difference.

    When I donate money to the Libertarian Party, for instance, that’s not an exchange. I don’t receive anything whatsoever from them. And there’s nothing I feel like buying from them. Instead, I happily donate to them according to my own value for investing in the movement for liberty, without which I could not enjoy what wealth I do choose to keep for myself.

    Because the culture of altruism has hijacked our notion of the nonprofit organization and its purpose, many pro-capitalists dismiss nonprofits outright. But they share an important place in a free market. For instance, I can’t immediately think of a good for-profit business model for a rape crisis center. Just doesn’t make sense to charge women for seeking help after being sexually assaulted. And anyone for liberty and individual rights should be concerned about rape, possibly one of the most anti-human abuses of individual rights in the history of humanity.

    So, while I cheer you on for defending profit, I would caution you in assuming that it is the ONLY healthy value out there. One of the best, certainly, but not the only one 🙂

    • philosophyofpatriots Says:

      I really appreciate your post, and I hope to get more discussions out of this blog! Thank you!

      Don’t underestimate the benefit you receive from your charity. When you donate to the libertarian cause, you are hoping to make a better world for yourself and those you care about. When you donate to a rape crisis center, you are saying with your dollars that such a thing should exist, and, heaven forbid, you were ever in such a situation, you would want the services they provide. They provide you with piece of mind and as long as you do it for the sake of your own concerns, it is still an objectivist value.

      If you are forced into, or guilt tripped into donating to these causes when they mean nothing to you, then you are doing yourself a disservice. Instead, you could find a better use for your money- improving your own life by buying things you want, or by donating to more worthwhile (to you) charities.

      I have donated to several worthwhile (to me) nonprofits in the past. I had a friend whose child was very sick and there was a charity organization that helped them out tremendously. I donated to them, as I saw how my friend (of value to me) benefited from this service. It was at a later date- I could not help him directly and in the manner he needed when his child was sick, but I remembered the organization that did when I became more financially stable. It still directly benefited me, as it was a tribute to my friend and his struggles.

      I also have donated to animal shelters because I like animals. I have several cats and a dog, and space prevents me from having more dogs and cats. Every time I donate to an animal shelter, I feel as though I have added space for more cats and dogs in the world, even though I cannot build a larger house. The animals benefit, but, it is for me.

Leave a Reply

